Fit Solutions. Move your body. Fuel your brain. Feed your spirit. Revitalize your health.

Make the Time

I recently had a conversation with a client about how she was getting on with her job, holiday shopping, taking care of 3 kids, starting her new exercise plan.  During her workout, she stated that she had little sleep due to sick child overnight but had kept on her schedule that day including  her workout.  How do you do it, I asked?  “You just do it”, she stated. 

As simple as it sounds, she’s right.  But how do we keep it simple when we are running in three different directions!  Prioritize. Sounds easy too, but again thing always comes up.  Each time you begin to add another activity or get involved in something, before committing or partaking, put it into  1 of 3 categories:

I must do this – it’s a necessity to sustain balance in my life and my family. 

I should do this – its important, but at the end of the day not as important.

I want to do this – its enjoyable, I would like to spend time doing this, or someone else that I care wants to do.

 Going back to those key words “necessity”, “important”, “enjoyable” will make it easier to make those decisions. Maybe you decide to meet yourself in the middle “I’m only watching these programs if I on my treadmill” , or revisiting the choice at another time “we arent going to get a dog now but lets talk about it again in 6 months.”

Several of you have received your special “Make the Time” bracelets from me.  Wear it or put it in a place where you see it many times a day to remind yourself to make the time for healthy habits.  Stop right now and make a list of things you want to do every day that you are not doing now and make them a necessity!

Leave a Reply

